• Theta Phi Alpha currently has the following colonies:
    New Jersey City University, Jersey City, NJ
    Farmingdale State College, Farmingdale, NY
    IU Colony
    When a local sorority, or a group of women students, wishes to organize a chapter and affiliate with Theta Phi Alpha, the first step is to function on campus as a "colony." In order to become a colony, the group must gain recognition and approval from the university or college, the college Panhellenic Council (if one exists), and the Grand Council.

    During the Colony Program, the colony functions on campus as a sorority and is guided and educated under the supervision of the National Director of Colonies. Local alumnae serve as Colony Advisors who, along with an assigned "big sister" chapter, assist with recruitment, organization, finances, philanthropy and educating the colony members in the history and traditions of Theta Phi Alpha. Prior to installation as a chapter, the colony must meet a number of requirements, including the following:

    attain membership of at least twenty-five women with no more than one-fourth of the members graduating that year; prepare chapter bylaws that have been approved by the National Constitution Chairman; establish programming for recruitment, philanthropy, and scholarship; maintain regular communication with our National Office including specified progress reports; pay all required national fees while maintaining financial stability; maintain scholastic standards which are acceptable to Theta Phi Alpha and to the college or university; and demonstrate the group's ability to function as an integral part of campus life..

    At this point, the colony petitions the Grand Council to become a chapter.

    If you are interested in learning more about Theta Phi Alpha's colony program, please contact the National Vice President of Extension at